Students cannot learn if they are not in school. California schools no longer receive funding for students who are sick or "excused." It is essential that your child attend school whenever possible - even if it is just for part of the day. Satisfactory explanation from the parent or guardian is required for the absence of a student for all or any part of the school day. The explanation may be given in person, by telephone, or in writing.
New this school year - 24 hour Attendance Reporting Line! Call 474-3300, ext 3290 to excuse an absence by phone. Leave the student's name, dates/periods of absence, reason for absence, your name and contact number. If you need to speak with directly with someone in the Attendance Office, please call:
Last names beginning with A-L: Ext. 3241
Last names beginning with M-Z: Ext. 3247
If you would like to send an email to the Attendance Office, please choose the Staff tab to the right.
Students will have 3 days to clear an absence after their return. Absences not excused within 3 days will be recorded as unexcused.
The following attendance policy was adopted by the Lucia Mar Unified School District Board of Education:
Notwithstanding Education Code 48200, a pupil shall be excused from school when the absence is:
1. Due to his or her illness.
2, Due to quarantine under the direction of a county or city health officer.
3. For the purpose of having medical, dental, optometry, or chiropractic service rendered.
4. For the purpose of attending funeral services of a member of his or her immediate family, as long as the absence is not more than 1 day if the service is conducted in California, and not more than 3 days if the service is conducted outside California.
5. For the purpose of jury duty in the manner provided by law.
6. Due to the illness or medical appointment during school hours of a child of whom the pupil is a custodial parent.
7. For justifiable personal reasons, including, but not limited to, an appearance in court, attendance at a funeral service, observance of a holiday or ceremony of his or her religion, attendance at religious retreats, or attendance at an employment conference, when the pupil's absence has been requested in writing by the parent or guardian and approved by the principal or a designated representative.
A pupil absent from school under this section shall be allowed to complete all assignments and tests missed during the absence that can reasonably be provided and, upon satisfactory completion within a reasonable period of time, shall be given full credit. The teacher of any class from which a pupil is absent shall determine the tests and assignments reasonably equivalent to, but not necessarily identical to, the tests and assignments that the pupil missed during the absence.
All other absences are not excused and may be recorded as unexcused absences by the school. Unexcused absences may result in:
- Referral to administrator for disciplinary action.
- Loss of a full letter grade for unexcused absences documented by an Unexcused Absence Referral.
A teacher may issue an Unexcused Absence Referral upon confirmation of at least 2 unexcused absences. Once a student has received an Unexcused Absence Referral, the teacher may lower the letter grade again upon sending a second Unexcused Absence Referral (and so on).
Students absent for any reason more than 10 days in any semester may be required to present medical verification for each subsequent absence. Students with excessive absences may be referred to an administrator.
According to the Education Code Section 48260, a pupil who is absent from school without a valid excuse for 3 days in one school year or is tardy or absent for more than any 30-minute period during the school day without a valid excuse on 3 occasions in one school year, or any combination thereof, is a truant and shall be reported to the district's attendance supervisor. Students reported truant 3 or more time per school year are "habitual" truants. Habitual truants will be referred to the Student Attendance Review Board (SARB) and are subject to the suspension or delay of their driving privilege per section 13202.7(s) of the California Vehicle Code, and/or placement in an alternative educational setting.
Tardiness interferes with the instruction of all students. It is expected that all students respectfully arrive on time for all classes. Excused tardies are issued of a student returns from a medical or dental appointment during a period or if the student is on a valid errand outside of the classroom with permission and a written pass. Students are responsible to make up all missed work that period. If an assignment was due, students must turn it in to the teacher that day, or it will be considered late. Students who are continually tardy will be referred to their administrator. Students may be assigned detention at lunch and/or break for tardiness. Ultimately, excessive tardies may result in detention, in-house suspension, and/or Saturday School . A tardy becomes and absence 30 minutes after the class is scheduled to start.
Students tardy for their arrival period may receive an excused tardy and entry to class if they present a note from their parent or guardian to the attendance office. Students are permitted 2 such notes each semester.
Pursuant to California Education Code, it is the duty of each parent, guardian or person having control or custody of a minor, to compel and guarantee regular and prompt attendance to class. When a student is absent, the PARENT or GUARDIAN must contact the school and verify the reason for and the dates of the absence within 3 days.
Leaving School Early
In order to leave school early, a student must obtain a Permit to Leave Campus from the Attendance Office. Permits will be issued during office hours only if the parent/guardian has given verbal or written permission to the school. Students who leave early without first obtaining permission from the office will be assigned a "CUT" which may result in disciplinary action and/or assignment failure.
Our campus is a CLOSED campus by action of the Board of Education. No student may leave during the school day without first obtaining a Permit to Leave Campus in the Attendance Office.
Only emergency messages FROM PARENTS will be sent to student through the Attendance Office. NOTE: This is NOT to be used as a reminder service.